With Six Individual Winners the Winslow Men take the KVAC Class B Track and Field Championship

Results | Photos

The Winslow Men's track and field team was kept off the podium in just four events---the 1600, 3200, discus and pole vault---but were able to take individual championships in six different events and take the top two spots in three events. With that breadth the Black Raiders accumulated 137 points to runner-up Lincoln Academy's 87. Ben Smith took the top spot on the podium in the 100, 200, and 400 while putting up a new personal best in the 400 (51.11).

The Eagles of Lincoln Academy, led by Sam Russ's wins in the 1600 and 3200 dominated the distance events, including a win in the 4 x 800 relay to open the meet. Finishing third was Belfast (56) followed by Medomak Valley (44.5), Camden (44), MCI (44), Waterville (42), Mount View (42), Maranacook (30), Erskine Academy (27.5), Lawrence (26), Leavitt (19), Morse (18), Gardiner (12), Oceanside (9), Spruce Mountain (7), and Nokomis (6).

Just behind Smith in the 100 (11.28) and 200 (22.78) was teammate Jake Warn. Warn, the defending 2016 state champion in the triple jump, took the 2017 KVAC championship first with a distance of 42-00.5. Other individual winners for the Black Raiders were Jamie Sears in the race-walk, and Max Spaulding in the 300 meter hurdles; teammate Spencer Miranda was just behind Spaulding for 2nd place. Spaulding also placed 4th in the 110 MH, while Miranda took 4th at the long jump. The Black Raiders also won the men's 4 x 400 relay.

MCI's Harrison Wang, with a new personal best of 16.34, won the 110 MH.

Lincoln Academy's cross country roots were evident as Russ was followed closely by David Barnum who took second in both the 1600 and 3200 with new personal bests in both events. Jarrett Gulden also placed in each event for the Eagles. Lincoln Academy swept the distance events as Riley Cushing took the 800 championship with a new personal best of 2:06.37.

Camden's Sam Hebert took the Class B title at the high jump pit clearing 5-10, four jumpers behind him finished at 5-8 with places sorted out by jumps. Hebert also claimed the long jump title with a leap of 19-11.5.

In the throws Waterville's Zack Smith defended his 2016 javelin title with a first place throw of 154-4 and established a new personal best in the discus with a winning throw of 144-1. Smith also placed third in the shot put behind Medomak's Richie Sproul, and Erskine's Jake Peavey. Sproul's mark of 43-01.25 was a new best and was his fifth consecutive win in the shot put.

Maranacook's William Green's vault of 13-06 took the men's pole vault title; to date it was Green's best jump.

Mount View claimed the 4 x 100 title as Devon Davis and Shaynen Schofield, each of whom placed in the 100M and 200M races, were able to claim the top podium spot with the relay win.