Flashback Friday: Spencer-Thompson Clears 6-11

Flashback Friday: Spencer-Thompson Clears 6-11

At the 2019 Class C State meet Mattanawcook senior Cayden Spencer-Thompson set a new state record in the high jump with a clearance of 6-11. Spencer-Thompson entered the meet with a personal best 6-10 entering the state meet. With the clearance at 6-11 he shattered the previous Class C state meet record of 6-8 1/4 set by Brandon Hall of Foxcroft Academy in 2004. The mark also broke the  11 year old state record of Noble's Anthony Stanton of 6-10 1/4 set at the 2008 Class A state meet. 

Spencer-Thompson added wins the long jump (23-2 3.4) & triple jump (48-3 3/4) at the Class C meet a year ago. He went on to win New England titles in the long (23-9 1/4) & triple jump (47-10 1/2). At the New Balance Outdoor Nationals, he earned All-American honors with a sixth place finish in the high jump (6-8) and a third place effort with a state record 50-7 in the triple jump.

Cayden now attends Louisville where he competes on the track team.

Class C State Meet High Jump Results

  1 Cayden Spencer-Thompson   SR Mattanawcook           6-11.00 St. Rec  10   
  2 Ashtyn Abbott             SR Hall-Dale              6-02.00    7   
  2 Carson Gross              SR Spruce Mountain        6-02.00    7   
  4 Nick Poulin               JR Mt Abram               6-00.00    4   
  5 Darian Hartley            SO Caribou                5-10.00    3   
  6 Khiari Sharrieff Hayward  SR Washington Acad       J5-10.00    2   
  7 Hunter Blanchard          SR Mattanawcook           5-08.00    0.50
  7 Te'Andre King             JR NYA                    5-08.00    0.50
  9 James Garcia              SR Wells                 J5-08.00  
 10 Cedrick Loyola            JR Wiscasset             J5-08.00  
 10 Issac Marker              JR Caribou               J5-08.00  
 10 Gavyn Leighton            SO Wells                 J5-08.00  
 10 Aaron Bard                SO Bangor Christian      J5-08.00  
 14 Jackson Masterson         JR Mt Abram              J5-08.00  
 14 Chris Parent              JR Caribou               J5-08.00  
 16 Quinn Ranta               JR Boothbay               5-04.00  
 16 Brayden Stevens           FR Telstar                5-04.00  
 18 Ian Wright                SR Central               J5-04.00  
 18 Sean Raven                SO Mount View            J5-04.00  
 20 Reid Campbell             JR Madison               J5-04.00