Cadorette & Marston tops at SMAA Relays

Cadorette & Marston top individuals, Scarborough boys & Bonny Eagle girls best teams

Results: Varsity Boys | Varsity Girls | JV Girls | JV Boys | Freshman boys | Freshman girls


The SMAA xc season got underway with the annual relay meet at Thornton Academy on Thursday. The varsity girls meet  featured 5 individual races with each team having an athlete in each race, combining the total time decided the team champion.

In race #1, Bonny Eagle used track speedster Kialeigh Marston to led things off, she faced off against South Portland's Shannon Conley, who won the Laliberte Invitational in Augusta last week, also in the race was Kiera Murray of Cheverus. Marston would set the fastest time of the day as she covered the 1.65 mile course in 9:41 to edge Conley 9:45 by 4 seconds, Murray was third, 10 seconds back in 9:55.

In race #2, Mary Szatkowski of BE, ranked #2 in the MaineTrackXC pre-season athlete rankings took the win in 10:02, the time was the 4th fastest on the day. Sophomore Casey Loring of South Portland was a few strides back 10:10 (5th fastest overall). Maquila Dimanstrantonio of Massabesic was 3rd (10:20)

Race 3 saw Kristen Glennie of BE take the win in 10:27, behind her was Angel Waters of Massabesic 10:32, with Georgia Caso of Cheverus 3rd, 10:35.

In race #4 Kyuanna Libby continued the winning ways for the Class A defending champions Scots as she cruised to the win in 10:50. Emily Wasino of Massabesic was 5 seconds back in 10:55.

Audrey Weyand completed the sweep for Bonny Eagle in race 5 as she eeked out the win by one second over Massabesic's Jolena Lampron 10:54 to 10:55.

In the JV race Rochelle Morrison of Massabesic took the win covering the course in 11:30.

Bonny Eagle who won all 5 races was the team winner with a combined effort of 51:54, while Massabesic was 2nd 52:59, South Portland was 3rd 54:47


        On the boys side the #1 race featured some top Class A runners in Ben Allen (Portland), Jack Letellier (Marshwood), Jacob Terry (Scarborough) & the xc debut of TA's Ryan Cadorette. After 2 laps around the track covered in 2:35, Letellier surged to lead with Allen and Cadorette on his shoulder. Letellier would continue to lead through the mile with Allen & Cadorette in tow. As the race headed back to the track Cadorette starting to make his finishing push as he edged by Allen with his sights set on Lettelier. With a little over 400m left Cadorette made his move not wanting it to come down to a kick with Letellier's superior speed. The senior running is his first career xc, after 3 years on the soccer pitch, proved it was a good move to run on the trails as he kicked home for the win. Ryan's winning time of 8:29 edged Letellier by 3 seconds, while Allen was a few strides behind in 3rd (8:34) holding off Scarborough's Jacob Terry (8:35).


"Winning my first XC race was a pleasant surprise, especially since it was against every team in the league, Cadorette said.  "I wanted to do well and had winning as a thought in the back of my mind, but I just wanted to perform to the best of my ability and let the results fall where they would."


In race #2 Scarborough sophomore Colin Tardiff raced to win covering the course in 8:48 while Deering's Harry Ramadan was 4 seconds back for second. Andrew Mongiat of Massabesic was thrid in 9:01.


Race #3 saw another Red Storm harrier cross the line first as junior Sean McGovern won easily with his 8:52. Second place went to Remi Gaertjens of Massabesic, he ran 9:07.

Ian Morris added anoter win for Scarborough as he took race #4 in 8:59. Gorham Ben Foster finished 4 seconds back in 9:03.

Scarborough's Jacob Bloom added another win in race 5 as he matched the winning time from race #5 with his 8:59. Second place went to Ismail Diini of Deering who was 26 second back in 9:25.

Senior Alex Karam cruised to another win for the Red Storm in race #6 as he ccovered the course in 9:21, second place went to Gavin King of Windham in 10:04

Closing out the varsity meet in race #7 was Will Fowler of Scarboorugh as he ran 9:18, with Tom Harrington of Massabesic second in 9:32.

Scarborough also continued its strong running by taing the first 3 spots in the JV race led by Maxim Doiron's win in 9:13, he would won both te #6 & #7 races.

Windham's Ben Breton took the freshman race in a fine 9:07 clocking.

Scarborough won 6 of the 7 races won the team once again with a total combined effort of 62:52, defending Class A champions Massabesic were 2nd in 65:35, while Gorham 66:47 was 3rd.


Boys Top 15 Individuals

  1 Ryan Cadorette           Thornton Academy       8:29.00     1
  2 Jack Letellier           Marshwood              8:32.00     2
  3 Ben Allen                Portland               8:34.00     3
  4 Jacob Terry              Scarborough High Sch   8:35.00     4
  5 Conor Bouffard           Biddeford              8:36.00     5
  6 Jesse Southard           Gorham                 8:37.00     6
  7 Yahya Hussein            Deering                8:38.00     7
  8 Michael Aboud            Massabesic             8:42.00     8
  9 Nate Skvorak             Windham                8:46.00     9
 10 Colin Tardiff            Scarborough High Sch   8:48.00    10
 11 Sean McGovern            Scarborough High Sch   8:52.00    11
 12 Harry Ramadan            Deering                8:52.00    12
 13 Ian Morris               Scarborough High Sch   8:59.00    13
 14 Jacob Bloom              Scarborough High Sch   8:59.00    14
 15 Corey Mongiat            Massabesic             9:01.00    15


Girls Top 15 Individuals

  1 Kialeigh Marston         Bonny Eagle            9:41.00     1
  2 Shannon Conley           South Portland         9:45.00     2
  3 Kiera Murray             Cheverus               9:55.00     3
  4 Mary Szatkowski          Bonny Eagle           10:02.00     4
  5 Casey Loring             South Portland        10:10.00     5
  6 Gabby Johnson            Massabesic            10:17.00     6
  7 Maquila Dimanstranton    Massabesic            10:20.00     7
  8 Laura Volan              Scarborough High Sch  10:21.00     8
  9 Catherine Ledue          Sanford               10:24.00     9
 10 Kristin Glennie          Bonny Eagle           10:27.00    10
 11 Julia Rand               Windham               10:28.00    11
 12 Jackie Turner            Gorham                10:29.00    12
 13 Katie LeBlanc            Thornton Academy      10:31.00    13
 14 Angel Waters             Massabesic            10:32.00    14
 15 Halee Phelps             Westbrook             10:35.00    15
 16 Abby Runnells            Thornton Academy      10:35.00    16
 17 Geogia Caso              Cheverus              10:35.00    17
 18 Kaitlyn Dostie           Cheverus              10:35.00    18