XC Watchlist: Osman Doorow Lewiston HS

<p> Check out our 2015 Maine XC previews as we prepare for the upconing season</p>

XC Watchlist: Osman Doorow

Athlete Name: Osman Doorow

School: Lewiston HS

Year of Graduation: 2016

2014 State Meet Finish: 8th in Class A 16:35.22

How long have you been running and how did you get started?

I have been running 3 years. Mohamed Awil talked me into coming out for
the cross country team my sophomore year.

Do you remember your first real race?

Yes I do. It was at Edward Little and i ran 18:45 for 5km.

How is your summer training going?

I was injury free so things went well. I ran one road race in Lewiston in July and won.

What is your favorite workout?

I enjoy the speed workouts the most. We have a 1200 meter loop that is part of our home course and I like doing repeats on that stretch.

Which meets will you be running in this year?

I'm particularly looking forward to the Festival of Champions. I finished 11th last year and I want to improve on last year. I would love to finish in the top 5.

Do you have a favorite course?

Belfast is my favorite course. We will run on it twice this year.

Out of all your running accomplishments so far, which stands out the most?

Helping my team win the State Outdoor track championship last spring. Also finishing 5th in the New England 3200 last spring.

What are your goals for the upcoming cross country season?

I hope to lead my team to a berth in the Class A State Championships at the end of October.

What do you love most about running?

I love Everything about running.

Finish the sentence Osman Doorow is.. is Very competitive.

Do you have a favorite quote?

not really

Do you have any pre-race rituals or routines?

I always eat the same pre-race meal.

What is your favorite food?

My favorite food is Pasta.

What was the last movie you saw and what did you think of it?

I don't usually watch movies.

What brand of shoes do you train/race in?

I like to race in Saucony.

What professional athlete would you like to meet the most?

I want to meet Mo Farah

What is something most people don't know about you?

I moved the the United States 3 years ago from Kenya.

Lastly, if you were stranded on an island with three things what would they be?

If I were stranded on an Island I would want my Mom, my Dad, and my Sisters

More on Doorow

Doorow's Milesplit Profile

Personal Bests

  • 800m (in) - 2:07.09
  • 800m - 2:00.38
  • 1600m - 4:23.06
  • 1 Mile (in) - 4:30.47
  • 3200m - 9:29.85
  • 2 Mile (in) - 9:54.60
  • 5K (xc) - 16:20.69