SB Report: The Jack Kelly Award (Boys MVP)


The Jack Kelly Award is given annually to the top boys runner in the state
Previous Winners

2011: Matt McClintock Madison

2010: Silas Eastman Fryeburg


Dan Curts Ellsworth


.04 seconds. That was the difference in deciding the state champion, and it was also the difference in deciding the runner of the year. Curts narrowly edged Eastman at the Manchester Invitational running a blazing time of 15:42, then out leaned Eastman at the line at the state meet running a time of 15:47.52. Curts was on fire all year, as he finished his season undefeated in Maine. His only blemish came last week at the New England Championships where he placed 17th which was still good enough to earn All New England honors for the second straight year. Curts is the heavy favorite to repeat and next fall. After that, who knows? He could very well make a trip to Footlocker Nationals next fall if he decides to race.


2. Silas Eastman Fryeburg 2nd Class B SB: 15:42

3. Jack Pierce Merriconeag 1st Class C SB: 15:57.41

4. Josef Holt-Andrews Telstar 2nd Class C SB: 15:59.89

5. Cam Nadeau Biddeford 1st Class A SB: 16:30.48

And the winner is…