White Breaks Course Record, McCarthy Wins Boys Race at FOC

Daniel McCarthy of Bangor won the boys seeded race in 15:34

Bangor senior Daniel McCarthy continued his undefeated season on Saturday as he jumped out to an early lead that he never gave back. McCarthy covered the 5k layout around the Troy Howard Middle School course in 15:34.24 as held off a valiant challenge from Hampden Academy senior Abbott Valentine who closed well over the final mile to finish second in a personal best 15:44.35.

McCarthy came in expecting to lead and push the pace, and the senior did just that as he came through the mile in 4:50.

"I tried to get in the early lead and see how long I could carry it," the senior from Bangor said.

With five previous races on the course and overnight rain, the course was a little soft in many places which looked to slow the times down a bit.

"It hurt a little bit in the end, I wasn't expecting the ground to suck some much energy out of my legs," McCarthy said post-race.

While McCarthy didn't run as fast as he thought he still ran his fastest time on the Troy Howard Middle School course and recorded the sixth-fastest time in meet history. Dan will get the chance to run on the course two more times this fall with the Northern Maine regional and Class A state meet.

Begin McCarthy, cross-town rival Abbott Valentine didn't give an inch as the senior battled strong over 5k recording a new personal best. Over the final mile, Valentine widdled the lead down a bit but ran out race to catch McCarthy. This was the third time the duo has raced this fall, and with three more races scheduled Valentine has plenty of time to close the gap.

Medomak Valley senior Connor Daigle ran with Valentine for much of the first two miles before dropping back a bit in the final mile. Daigle finished third in 16:05.87 and was followed to the line by Scarborough senior Zach Barry who rebounded from an off race at Fleet Feet two weeks ago to clock 16:15.79. Biddeford senior Chris Walton closed well over the final mile to score a fifth-place finish in 16:18.52, while Cape Elizabeth senior Owen Patry was sixth in a personal best 16:21.50.

Logan Ross a senior from Falmouth was seventh in 16:31.73, he was followed by junior Cyrus Evans of Mt Blue who ran a huge personal best of 16:33.82. MDI's Sam York clocked 16:33.90 for ninth while Hampden Academy's Charlie Collins rounded out the top ten with a 16:36.19 effort.

Henri McCourt of Mt Blue won the freshman race in 17:59.71 while Jacob Farnham of Hyde won the unseeded race in a time of 18:28.82.

Brunswick the top-ranked Maine team easily won the team title as the Dragons tallied just 150 points to finish 79 points to second-ranked Bangor. The Dragons averaged 17:24.92 for the top five and had all five scoring runners place in the top 47 overall. Bangor put in a strong effort to finish second as they were missing #2 runner Fritz Oldenburg who was sidelined with a stress reaction in his foot, along with another top-five runner Adam Miller-Treat. Cape Elizabeth was the top Class B school as the Capers scored 260 points for third, they were followed by Class A Portland who tallied 320. Hampden Academy rounded out the top five teams with 325 points.

Boys Top 20 Individuals

  1 Daniel McCarthy           SR Bangor High School      5:00.7   15:34.24   3   1
  2 Abbott Valentine          SR Hampden Academy         5:04.0   15:44.35   3   2
  3 Connor Daigle             SR Medomak                 5:10.9   16:05.87   3
  4 Zachary Barry             SR Scarborough             5:14.1   16:15.79   3   3
  5 Chris Walton              SR Biddeford               5:15.0   16:18.62   3   4
  6 Owen Patry                SR Cape Elizabeth          5:16.0   16:21.50   3   5
  7 Logan Ross                SR Falmouth                5:19.2   16:31.73   3   6
  8 Cyrus Evans               JR Mt. Blue                5:19.9   16:33.82   3   7
  9 Sam York                  JR Mount Desert            5:19.9   16:33.90   3   8
 10 Charlie Collins           JR Hampden Academy         5:20.7   16:36.19   3   9
 11 Calvin Cummings           SR Gorham High School      5:21.4   16:38.46   3  10
 12 Andrew Keene              SR Kennebunk               5:23.6   16:45.30   3  11
 13 Vaughn Lindenau           SR Cape Elizabeth          5:26.0   16:52.84   3  12
 14 Nathan Livingood          SR Gould Academy           5:26.6   16:54.50   3  13
 15 Joey Valliere             SR Brunswick               5:26.7   16:55.00   3  14
 16 Kyle McClellan            SR Orono High School       5:27.3   16:56.64   3  15
 17 Braden Butler             SR Marshwood               5:27.3   16:56.72   3  16
 18 Eli Palmer                JR Brunswick               5:27.7   16:58.00   3  17
 19 Jacob Ramos               SR South Portland          5:27.8   16:58.31   3  18
 20 Michael Cyr               SR Caribou High School     5:27.9   16:58.61   3  19